The 2022 Spirit of College Radio Awards Recognize Student Broadcasters’ Extraordinary Efforts

<strong>The 2022 <em>Spirit of College Radio Awards</em> Recognize Student Broadcasters’ Extraordinary Efforts</strong>

The organizers of the annual World College Radio Day event are announcing their 2022 Spirit of College Radio Awards winners.

The Spirit of College Radio Awards are presented by the College Radio Foundation in recognition of truly outstanding and spirited efforts made by college radio stations on World College Radio Day, which occurred on October 7.

Stations are voted for by the team that organizes World College Radio Day, who seek to shine a spotlight on college radio stations that not only go above and beyond to celebrate the annual WCRD event but also embody the passion and mission of college radio.

Out of the hundreds of stations that participate, only ten stations are chosen. This year the following college radio stations were selected to be recognized, along with special recognition for one station in Ukraine:

Aggie Radio – Utah State University (USA)
Estación V – Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana – Bucaramanga (Colombia)
RADIO-E – Universidad de Costa Rica (Costa Rica)
Sun4U Radio – Sunway University College (Malaysia)
The Wolf Internet Radio – University of West Georgia (USA)
UP FM – University of Patras (Greece)
89.1 WFDU-HD3 – Fairleigh Dickinson University (USA)
WIUP – Indiana University of Pennsylvania (USA)
WMCO – Muskingum University (USA)
WPTS – University of Pittsburgh (USA)

Special Recognition: STUD Radio (Ukraine)

Commenting on the winners, Rob Quicke, Founder of College Radio Day, said: “We congratulate all these stations for their brilliant efforts. This year our theme for the day was Voices for Peace and many stations did 24 hours of extraordinary events and programming. It was also remarkable that the students at STUD Radio in Ukraine were able to put together a very moving one-hour program for our global marathon, despite the country being in a state of war. We want to honor their work by giving them special recognition in this year’s awards.”